SMCC Library: MGT253: Market Analysis

Market Analysis Definition:

A market analysis is a quantitative and qualitative assessment of a market. It looks into the size of the market both in volume and in value, the various customer segments and buying patterns, the competition, and the economic environment in terms of barriers to entry and regulation.

The importance of a good market analysis in your area cannot be over emphasized, and whether you’re a large corporation or a small firm, understanding your market will help identify many different factors that can have an impact on your business or clients.

Library Articles & Databases
Websites

Business Insights: Global
This source provides international business intelligence through case studies, SWOT reports, corporate chronologies and profiles, full-text periodicals, market research reports, and company histories.
Reference USA
This business resource provides assistance for creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, and locating companies.
ReferenceUSA is a robust database that offers something for everyone. Small businesses and entrepreneurs can create informed business plans with ReferenceUSA by using its sophisticated “mapping feature” to target the location and proximity of competitors. ReferenceUSA even allows you to search for minority businesses by gender or ethnicity, which is very important for our community. Video on how to use Consumers / Lifestyles database.
Global Road Warrior
This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.

Multidisciplinary Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile
This scholarly collection offers journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in nearly every area of academic study.
Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. as well as 180,000 searchable images.
General OneFile
A large collection of general magazines on a wide variety of topics.
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.
MasterFILE Premier
This collection offers journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in nearly every subject area.
Gale PowerSearch
Gale PowerSearch is a combined search platform providing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information from Cengage Gale Learning. Rich in articles (periodicals) that have statistics.
A - Z Databases
Find more library databases for your market analysis research.

Phoenix Public Library

Hoover's Company Records
Find up to date records on 44,000 major public and non-public U.S. and international companies and 225,000 key executives. Use Document type Filter to find Case Study, Annual Reports, Market Research, Statistics/Data Report, and more.
Reference USA - Business
Directory information of more than 14 million publicly and privately owned companies in the United States.
Small Business Reference Center
Providing exclusive full text for many of the top consumer small business reference books, Small Business Reference Center contains more than 450 full-text reference books (including NOLO books), as well as nearly 400 full-text magazines. Browse by category: Business Area, Industry Information by Small Business Type, Business Basics, and Start-Up Kit and Business Plans.

Small Business Development

SBA.gov
May be useful for industry and market analysis:
-lots of general resources
-includes links to data for market analysis
-also a link to NAICS and industry data

Zip Codes

Zip Code Look-up
From Claritas. Use Zip Codes to learn about the demographics and lifestyles of consumer segments in your zip code area of interest.
Focus: Demographic and lifestyle data by zip code.
Focus: Claritas - Segment Details - 68 consumer type segments about who your consumer is about.

Demographics

American FactFinder
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including:
-Basic Counts
-Education
-Income
-Employment
-Race
Census Home Page
U.S. Census Bureau home page. The official site for U.S. economic, demographic, and social statistics.
American Community Survey
Provides estimates or projections since the last census.

Statistics

Asian Development Bank Statistical Database System
Social, economic, and financial indicators.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics covering unemployment, earnings, productivity, consumer prices (CPI), work stoppages, employee benefits, and occupational injuries. Regional, state, and/or local statistical breakdowns
Penn World Tables
Statistics on 168 countries, including population, gross domestic product, consumption, investment, prices, construction, transportation equipment, standard of living, and more. "Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 168 countries.
Statistical Abstract and Related Publications
Compiled statistics of the United States from colonial times to 2010.
United Nations Statistics Division
Information from the UN (United Nations) Statistics Division, including the publications World Statistics Pocketbook and Statistical Yearbook. Includes geographical, economic, demographic, and social indicators data for all 185 UN members.