SMCC Library: AJS101: Reference

Reference Tools

Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you:

explore a topic (find out what has been said about a topic, trends, issues or background information)
identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
find references to other books and articles on the topic, and
find keywords to use in online searches.

This page pulls together a sample of both electronic and print reference tools.

Have questions? Visit the library's Research and Information Service desk.

Biography in Context
Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines. Includes materials from Gale Group reference titles, full-text magazine articles, and the Complete Marquis Who's Who (r).
Credo Academic Core
Dates of Coverage: -Present. Over 600 reference titles combined into one, cross-referenced resource. It encompasses a wide variety of subjects such as art, health, literature, and politics. In addition to articles, Credo contains high-quality, searchable photographs, fine art, scientific diagrams, and other types of images. Over 76,000 audio pronunciation files also are included. New titles are added each year.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Dates of Coverage: - Present. Includes Encyclopedias about crime and punishment, jails, prisons, gun control, crime psychology, legal and illegal immigration and more.
Legal Information Reference Center

Browse the library's print dictionaries located on the second floor in the Reference collection.

The concise dictionary of crime and justice by Mark S. Davis.
Call Number: REF - HV6017 .D38 2016
ISBN: 9781483380933
Publication Date: Second edition.
Dictionary of American criminal justice: key terms and major Supreme Court cases by Champion, Dean J
Call Number: REF - HV7411 .C53 1998
ISBN: 9781579580735
The Yale biographical dictionary of American law by edited by Roger K. Newman.
Call Number: 340.0922 Y12
ISBN: 0300113005

Browse the library's print encyclopedias located on the second floor in the Reference collection.

The United States Government Manual 2015
Call Number: REF JK 421.A3 2015
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by James Ciment
Call Number: REF JV 6465 .E53 2000 v1 - v5
CRIME in the UNITED STATES by Shanan Hertz Hattis
Call Number: REF HV 6787 .A3 2016

Once you login into eBooks on EBSCOhost, click on Reference in the navigation menu located on the right side of the screen.