Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU/ENH 291 Dr. Kimberly Mauldin

A specialized guide pertaining to the theme of children's literature

Author Information and Backgrounds

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combines with critical essays, works and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works and literary movements

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Provides access to over 10 million scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects in the Arts & Sciences. Includes Collections 1-15, dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.

Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, including contemporary times, around the world and across all disciplines. Includes materials from Gale Group reference titles, full-text articles, and the Complete Marquis Who's Who.

First Person Author Information and Backgrounds

Autobiographies are written by the author.  Biographies are written about the author, with and without the author's consent.  Biographies can be found through the Phoenix Public Library using:

Browse or search for something specific among more than 13​0,000 eBooks for numerous formats and spanning various genres.  Log in with your MEID (password is your birthday, all 6 digits) to see even more available titles, including previously unavailable materials by popular authors!

Learn more about getting started with Greater Phoenix Digital Library or go directly to the collection.​ For help, see the FAQs.

Start using hoopla digital today to borrow ​eBooks and Comics with your MEID and create an account. Gain access to thousands of titles – available for instant streaming or temporary download – to access on your smartphone, tablet or computer.

Axis 360 offers a collection of the most popular bestsellers, along with materials you can't find anywhere else. Log in your MEID (password is your birthday, all 6 digits).

Learn more about getting started with Axis 360 or go directly to the collection.​

Other great ways to learn about authors is from their:

  • Website
  • Facebook page
  • Twitter feed
  • Instagram
  • Youtube

Not all authors have these but it worth checking out to see if they do