Last Updated: Apr 16, 2013
URL: http://libguides.southmountaincc.edu/content.php?pid=195313
Print Guide
- JSTOR
Archival database that contains fulltext Academic Journals dating back to issue one, volume one.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
Topics ranging from world religions, biblical studies, religious history to political philosophy, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy are found in nearly 300 full text journals. Coverage from 1975 to the present.
- Encyclopedia of American Religions 7th ed. (2003)
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (2005)
This 15 volume set presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
- Critical Terms for Religious Studies (1998)
Provides a concise history of a critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event. Moving across Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and Native American and Mayan religions
- New Encyclopedia of Judaism (2002)
Articles are based on the latest scholarship, presented so as to interest and inform the student and the layman. A special feature of the encyclopedia is its distinctive layout, which displays tables and insets containing, for example, texts of prayers, the major laws and practices relating to the subject of the entry, sayings and aphorisms.
- Handbook of Ancient Religions (2007)
Provides a scholarly account of ancient cultures around the world, from China to India, the Middle East, Egypt, Europe, and the Americas. It outlines the history of the different societies so their religion and culture can be understood in context.