Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | W

A
About the South Mountain Community Library Building
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 23, 2013
Opened in August 2011, this multiple award-winning building is home to a branch of the Phoenix Public Library System

and to South Mountain Community College's academic library.

African American History Month
by Brynn Burton, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 5, 2014
Celebrate African American History Month with SMCL! Explore the collection of SMCL resources below for information concerning AAHM websites, organizations, biographies, civil rights, history and SMCL databases.
Alphabetical List of Databases
by Stephanie Allen, Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 9, 2014
Alphabetical list of SMCC's online resource subscriptions
Alphabetical List of eBooks
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
Alphabetical list of ebooks (reference) via subscriptions with Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference
APA Citation
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jun 17, 2010
Provides brief explanation and examples of how to cite using APA.
Art Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
Provides links to Arts & Humanites Research Databases, eBooks, Websites and more
Articles & Databases
by Stephanie Allen, Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 8, 2014
Links to SMCC's online subscriptions (journal articles, magazines, newspapers, reports, ebooks, streaming media, etc. )
Audio Collections
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
B
Biography Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Oct 8, 2012
Biology Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Brynn Burton
by Brynn Burton, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Business Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
C
Citation Help: Documenting Sources
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Aug 21, 2014
Properly cite and document sources for scholarly and personal research.
COM 207: Introduction to Communication Inquiry
by Tracy Mertens - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Welcome to COM 207! This guide is to be used in conjunction with COM 207, taught by Amy MacPherson
COM 263 - Countries and Cultures
by Lydia Johnson - Last Updated Feb 25, 2014
Provides brief direction for obtaining information resources for the "My Culture" assignment.
Communication Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Course Reserve Form
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 12, 2012
Contains online form for faculty to place items in the Library's Reserve Collection
CRAP Test: Evaluating Websites
by Stephanie Allen - Last Updated Jul 25, 2014
How do you know the websites you're using for your college research are quality sites? Apply the famous CRAP Test!
D
Dan Stanton
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Database Trials
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 29, 2014
Database Tutorials
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
Debbie Anderson
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Design Effective Library Assignments
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
Library Instruction and Information Literacy Program: A Guide for Faculty
Dr. Cate McNamara
by Melissa Johnson, Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 8, 2014
Faculty Profile
E
eBooks
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
Guide for specific subject related eBooks
eBooks -- Art & Humanities
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This guide provides links to SMC subscribed ebooks related to Art and the Humanities
eBooks -- Biography
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
eBooks -- Business
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
eBooks -- Communication
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
eBooks -- Criminal Justice
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- Culture
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- Education
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
eBooks -- Encyclopedias
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- Health & Medicine
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- History
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
eBooks -- Law
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- Literature
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
eBooks -- Math
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
eBooks -- Philosophy & Religion
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
eBooks -- Political Science
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
eBooks -- Psychology
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
eBooks -- Science & Technology
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
eBooks -- Sociology
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
ebooks -- Storytelling
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
eBooks -- Theatre
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
eBooks by Subject
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 19, 2013
Edlin Medina
by Melissa Johnson, Edlyn Medina - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Education Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
English as a Second Language (ESL)
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Dec 12, 2013
The English as a Second Language (ESL) Student Library Research Guide is a gateway to ESL resources for students.
Evaluating Web Pages
by Lydia Johnson, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
Evaluating Web Pages
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
G
GED/Adult Education Success
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Jul 14, 2014
A collection of South Mountain Community Library resources to help you prepare for the GED exam.
H
Health & Medicine Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 1, 2012
History Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
J
Julaine Warner
by Melissa Johnson, Julaine Warner - Last Updated Mar 9, 2014
L
Learning Support Centers
by Melissa Johnson, Lora Largo - Last Updated Dec 20, 2013
Legal Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Librarian Tools and Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Library Directory
by Cate McNamara, Edlyn Medina - Last Updated Aug 6, 2014
Directory includes contact information for SMCC Library Faculty and Staff.
Library Instruction -- Student Evaluation
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 10, 2012
South Mountain Community College Student Evaluation of Library Instructional Sessions
Library Workshops and Open Labs: Get the Help You Need to Succeed!
by Stephanie Allen - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Content description of workshops presented every fall and spring semester by SMCC's faculty librarians,

and description of the help available at SMCC's library open labs.


Literature Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Lora Largo
by Melissa Johnson, Lora Largo - Last Updated May 20, 2014
Lydia Johnson
by Lydia Johnson, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Apr 23, 2014
M
Maps
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
Mark Floor
by Mark Floor, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Math Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 30, 2012
Melissa L. Johnson
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
MLA Citation
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 1, 2011
Provides brief explanation and examples on how to cite using MLA
N
Nancy Deegan
by Nancy Deegan, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Newspaper Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Nursing & Allied Health Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
O
Olivia Lewis
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Other Libraries
by Stephanie Allen, Amy MacPherson, Edlyn Medina - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011
P
Page 2
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Peace Walk Event
by Nancy Deegan - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
This guide supports the First Annual Childrens Walk for Peace held at South Mountain Community College in January 2012.
Philosophy & Religion Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Poetry
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 19, 2010
This guide helps students find Poetry resources
Political Science
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 2, 2011
Print Periodicals at the SMCL
by Stephanie Allen, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated May 15, 2013
A list of the newspapers, magazines and journals in print at SMCL.
Pro/Con Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Psychology Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
R
Reference Works
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Finding facts, government sources, primary sources, reference sources, such as, dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, handbook, statistics, and maps
S
Science & Technology Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
Selected Reference Works
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Aug 20, 2014
Fact finding and general reference sources, such as, dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, handbook, statistics, and maps
SMCL Instruction Request
by Lora Largo - Last Updated Aug 20, 2014
Social & Behavioral Science Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jun 26, 2013
Sociology Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
South Mountain Community Library
by Melissa Johnson, Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 30, 2014
Library and Teaching & Learning Center (LTLC) Division
Start Here (Articles & Databases)
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Jul 8, 2014
Stephanie Allen
by Stephanie Allen, Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 23, 2014
Steve Cruz
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
STO - African American
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for African American and African Tales
STO - American Folklore
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for American Folklore
STO - Asian Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Asian Tales
STO - Australian and SP
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Storytelling Guide for Australian and South Pacific Tales
STO - Caribbean Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Storytelling Guide for Caribbean Tales
STO - European Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for European Tales
STO - Hispanic Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Hispanic Tales
STO - Jewish Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Storytelling Guide for Jewish Tales
STO - Middle Eastern Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Storytelling Guide for Middle Eastern Tales
STO - Multicultural Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Multicultural Tales
STO - Mythology
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Mythology
STO - Native American Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Native American Tales
STO - Study of Storytelling, Techniques & Wordless Books
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for the Study of Storytelling, Techniques for and Uses of Storytelling and Wordless Books
STO - Tales in Spanish and Bilingual Tales
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Storytelling Guide for Tales in Spanish, Spanish and English, or English and Other Languages.
STO - Urban Legends
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Storytelling Guide for Urban Legends
Storytelling
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This page provides links to all of the Libguides used to support the Storytelling curriculum at SMC.
Storytelling Resources
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Streaming Media (online video)
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
Student & Faculty Services: Library Liaisons & Subject Specialists
by Lora Largo - Last Updated May 27, 2014
The library liaisons are in charge of the library collection for their subjects and are also the contact person for students and faculty in their disciplines and programs.
Susan Navarro
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Sustainability Resources: ENG 101/102
by Nancy Deegan - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
A specialized guide to library resources pertaining to the theme of sustainability.
T
Tavey Johnson
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Theatre
by Cate McNamara - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Tracy Mertens
by Melissa Johnson, Tracy Mertens - Last Updated Mar 9, 2014
Tymecca Edney
by Melissa Johnson - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Lora Largo, Faculty Instruction Librarian
Contact Info
Library 253
602.243.8345
lora.largo@southmountaincc.edu